Home » Jiangsu Profile

Jiangsu Profile

  • General Survey
  • Maps of Jiangsu
  • Economic Position
  • Agriculture & Industry
  • Foreign Trade
  • FDI & Overseas Investment

Jiangsu Province is situated in the eastern part of China by the Yellow Sea and the down stream areas of the Yangtze River and the Huai River, with Shandong province to the north, Anhui province to the west, Shanghai Municipality and Zhejiang Province to the southeast. The province covers an area of 102, 600 square kilometers, 1.06% of the total area of the country.

The Yangtze River flows from west to east, and the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal from north to south through the province. There are some low hills and hilly land dotting the southwest and northern borders, covering 14% of the province's total area. The area of plains covers 69% and the water surface takes up 17% of the province.

By the end of 2007, the total population of Jiangsu was 76.25 million, leaving Jiangsu to be the most densely populated province in China with average 743 persons per square kilometer.

Jiangsu province is one of the most economically developed regions in China. In 2007, the GDP of the province reached RMB 2556.01billion,ranking the third place in China.GDP per capita was RMB 33689 in Jiangsu, which is nearly double the nation's average. Jiangsu has developed well its infrastructure. By the end of 2007, the province has built 133732 kilometers of roads, of which more than 3500 kilometers are of express high ways. It has 9 airports. Nanjing Lukou International Airport has passenger service to Asian countries and regions and cargo service to different parts of the world including USA and Europe. At present, the province has 32.26 million fixed telephone line users,33.13 million mobile phone users, 6.72 million internet users. The popularization rate of telephone is 85.76 per 100 persons. Private owned cars reached 1,248,300.

In 2007, Jiangsu received some 5.13 million tourists, among them there were 3.69 million foreigners, 1.43 million tourists from Hongkong, Macau and Taiwan.